Launching Trouble

TrAb

BOOSTIN
Hey guys i finally got a new transmission installed after my last one crapped out on me. Anyways i got around to driving it today and wanted to see how much boost i could build from a stop. Im fairly new to this car and havent had much time with it so i will write out exactly what im doing. First i put my foot firmly on the brake, then i put my foot to the floor on the gas and was waiting on boost to build, it takes it quite a while, probably 10 seconds to get up to 3lbs or so. Then i let out and it feels like its coming out of the hole slowly. Im thinking i should be able to build more boost then this. Also before i switched to this new convertor i was able to break my back tires loose while doing this. The car will not break the back tires loose now, no matter how much gas i give it. Whats up? BTW i have a pats 3000 stall, te44 turbo, and Gbody 3in downpipe, no cat, 3in exhaust. Thanks

At what paint does it stall at 0/1 psi of boost? te44 turbo should break loose the tires stock stall iirc. Maybe you have a lock up issue. Hows your speedo reading?

Sounds like you may have an exhaust leak or something going on. 10 sec to build 3# is bad.

Guys i might be retarded, i forgot that i havent even hooked up the speedo cable. Would that have something to do with this?

Hook the speedo cable up and report back to us. I think that might be your issue.

Nix

Post back if that was it, or if you found something else, mainly to help folks who come along after you with similar issues. That 44 should spool quickly, I know mine does.

My 5 disc vig is rated over 3000 stall but on my car it stalls at 2700 at 0/1 psi, but even with that tight of a converter, my 44 rips to as much boost as you want; brakes/tires don't stand a chance! :D

the speedo has nothing to do with it

think for a second what he posted then sit back a while and think before you post

the car is being foot braked the car isnt moving so speedo/vss doesnt come to play ..