Interesting article on 82 1/2 GN not T-Type

ChavoLC2

Someone mentioned the other day there were no articles in GM HighPerformance about are bleoved Buicks. I was bummed too because I have a monthly subscription and it's always about Camaros, ZO6, Firechickens.

Anyway today I was at Barnes& Noble and happend to pickup a Mag I usually never pickup the front cover was about the Boss 302 being back. So thumbing thru the pages come across a 4-5 page article with pics about the 1st GN's. The article starts off saying before all the NAYSAYERS say it was a Myth and start running off. The car was the Limited edition GrandNational made in 1982.5. it said most will argue that the car doesn't exist that the GN was produced between 84-87. That this GN next to the LaSabre GN it is the next RAREST GN.

Buick had I believe a company named Car and Customs build this special GN they were just going to make 100 but turned out to be around 210. The article Talks about the Day /Year of the Regal , How Richard Petty won one of his 7 Championships in a Regal at the Daytona 500 that year. That year Buick won something like 26 races out of 34 races that year. Won the Manufactures Award etc,etc...Talks about DW, Bobby Allison and all those guys who run Buicks actually more then half the field ran Buicks. The Buick wind tunnel coeffiecent kicked but back in the day.

Goes on and says NASCAR sued Buick because the GrandNational name was Copyrighted by them. Well the outfit that was contracted to make these GNs, come out/designed the stacked Grand National checkered flag emblem we now have with the power6 that design didn't infringe on NASCAR's copyright design.