home made downpipe question.

Ev87Ttype

So I have an idea.... Keep in mind I'm a professional welder and fabricator... I have built many sets of headers from just a bunch of mandrel bent pipes. I was thinking about cutting a stock turbo outlet housing in to nothing but a flange with the stock wastegate puck attached. Then I will use 3 inch ss mandrel bent pipe to build a downpipe and weld it to the flange. I know the flange is cast iron, I have welded a lot of cast before. My only concern is a weak weld at that flange. I would build a new steel flange but I have no good way to build a properly working puck. I figure that by using the stock elbow as a flange I can cut it in such a way that the puck and lever stays attached and I can build around it. Does anyone see any reason this won't work or out perform a stock dp? I can build this for about 80 bucks. That is why I am considering this. Am I wasting my time? Everyone that builds nice dp today had to start somewhere.

That is exactly what I did. Buy the flange and wastegate flap. Its a nice piece. I built a 3.5 inch pipe. Fits like a glove.