High Mile Question

koolctk

I am a noob to TTA's but not thirdgens, and I have been looking at a TTA that is local to me in CA that’s owned by a 74 year old man who wants to buy an ls7 vette. He’s the original owner and it has 149,xxx miles on it, so I assume not a whole lot of abuse.

Paint and interior have good wear and the turbo has never been replaced, he said that 8 months ago it was given a $600 tune up at a Pontiac dealer but doesn’t know exactly what it consisted of (he stated he wasn’t very mechanically inclined)

My question is, what am I going to need to replace on this engine besides the turbo? I don’t know how long these blocks last and what I can do to it with that many miles on it, I don’t know exactly how the a turbo powered car would effect the engine and if the Buick top end was built to withstand that many miles (siad he always used Mobil 1). And how about the 200r4, how long do they last, and whats a cost for a mildly built one?

I am weary of buying this car since it has so many miles, but I would like something that I could work on but not be forced to dump tons of money just to be a nice driver (I like the car but am not into collectables).

Any help would be very appreciated, I am just looking for some clarification and knowledge I cant find through a simple search. Thanks

From various posts I've seen, there are a number of TTA's around with over 200,000 miles on them. The 3.8 appears to be a pretty sturdy block. Some questions for you: Cloth or leather interior? T-tops? Is the spoiler original? Is it cracked? Does it have the original owner" kit( worth about $500)? And finally- how much?

The motors are good for a lot of miles. The transmission is another story. It will depend on what you get the car for. I am sure it will need thousands of dollars to get it cleaned up though.

koolctk,