Help w/boost control

W

Wilecoyote

I bought an adj. wg actuator - one of the kirban types, I have it installed, how do I adjust it to produce more boost? I am getting around 9# according to the inaccurate stock indash - I have purchased some vdo gauges - just not here yet! I can back the screw off along the threaded part, but how do I make more boost. shorten the entire assembly, or lengthen it? Another question, on an adj. fuel reg - how do I adj. the base pressure up, by screwing the threaded piece into the regulator or backing it out more? I have an under the hood fuel gauge coming too!
Thanks for the help - I actually have my '87 gn idling well at ~800 or so rpms and driving/shifting/boosting pretty good considering I'm no mechanic and have had her tore down for 2+ months! With the help of the tr website and all of the tech articles I have printed off of there, I feel like I am starting to figure out what I am doing - and with help from you guys! Believe me I appreciate it, it has been a huge help and I'm just getting started.:)

Shorten the wastegate rod to raise boost.
Turn screw clockwise to raise pressure.You should set the base pressure with the vacuum line disconnected and a gauge installed.

You have to take the actuator arm off of the wastegate puck arm, loosen the jam nuts and shorten the rod. One full turn is approx 1lbs of boost. DO NOT ADJUST BOOST without some sort of scan tool. The last thing you want to do is turn up the boost and blow a headgasket, because you don't know how much knock your getting. Headgasket replacement can cost $700