HELP! new GN owner- many ??

F

FNGNG

Hello everyone,

I am brand new to the GN scene as an owner. I guess I should start by filling you in on my situation. My father bought an 87 buick GN off the showroom floor in late 87 possibly early 88. I remember when he brought it home-that new car smell. I remember going to firebird raceway for the friday night drags-those were some of the best times I can ever remember having with my dad. I became estranged from my father at the age of thirteen.

More about my father- he was a machinist/ racer by trade and a truck driver by career. He rebuilt his first engine at 13 and was a genius with anything mechanical. In his younger days he set five track records at old Beeline raceway here in AZ. He obtained a sponsorship deal with chevy one week before he was drafted. He served his time and took a hiatus from racing, started a family and did not get back in it untill a year before he purchased the GN. He past away on thanksgiving day 2001 at the age of 58 alone in North Carolina.
Maybe a little too much background- but I am trying to establish my heartfelt connection with GN's as well as the fact that my father knew what he was doing when it came to performance.

Now I have just inhereted my dads car. I have no true idea as to what all has been changed on it but I do know this through extra parts that are around and receipts that my dad kept:

heads, turbo, injectors, headers, intake, chip, fuel pump, regulator, cam, nitrous kit that has now been removed, and a ton of suspension, drivetrain, and body upgrades all for the 1320.

The best timeslip I could find read 12.30's w/o nos (my dad kept meticulous records-air bag psi, tire psi, air temp, boost at launch, etc) and that was before most of the mods-it was in 1990 and 75% of the mods were after that date untill 1993. I have to believe the car reached the mid 11's.