EFE equipped or not???

1982 Riv T-Type

Hi Guys,
My first post....just picked up a dandy `82 Riv T-Type with a turbo 3.8...I`m having cold driveability problems with it. I am a mechanic and have covered all the obvious bases but have a question about the EFE system on the `82....according to the factory lit the heated grid in the carb base gasket did not start on the Riv Turbo until `83-Buick mentions it in the `83 dealer`s manual but not the `82 in the "mechanical features" section. My car does not appear to ever have been equipped with EFE as there are no unaccounted for wiring pigtails,etc...is the `82 Riv turbo supposed to have the heated grid? If so, anyone have a source for it? Anyone have a pic to post? Of the connector to the grid, the relay and switch which controls it? Thanks!
Tom Mooney

The '82 Rivera didn't come out until midyear. I don't know which it had for sure, but if it didn't have the grid, it should have a vacuum EFE just after the driver's side exhaust manifold. The wiring for the grid is pretty heavy gauge - pink and black wires with a white connector on my Regal.

I took my grid out, (actually they burn out easily and are big bucks to replace) and it didn't effect much. The plenum heat fro the EGR makes a big differance. The trap door THERMAC air cleaner helps out some too. When there is enough heat, the engine will bog on accelerartion.

All I can tell from the parts catalog is that an EFE is listed for the 82. I have a relay and a grid listed but no vacuum valve on the exhaust. I've always thought the 82 and 83 Riv was the same. I've had a few 83's but no 82's so I cant say for sure. Strange that no plug is there. I have a source for a new EFE grid. $140.00 shipped to your door. I think the relay is mounted under the dash on that year. I also list an EFE grid for the 81 turbo Riv so I assume EFE was used on all CCC turbo Rivs.

Thanks for the response Rich and Eric!