DIY TIG welder..

there is alot more to a welder than just making electricity, if i could just plug a tig torch into a light socket, then we would of done that years ago, but those machines weight a few hundred pounds for a reason, stable current, high frequency start, on top of alot of other things, i have been welding for 12 years now, i wouldn't waste my time strapping a tig tourch to an alternator, and if i was i would of used my car and just powered it off the engine, why make an electric motor do what your alternator on your car does every day, thats my opinion, or 2 cents, however you see it
grant

Grant, with your experience, I would go with you on this one. The interesting thing is the "making it work" attitude. Would be great in an emergency possibly

Mark

it'll work for "scratch & go" for mild steel and stainless...basically anything you run dc straight polarity...

he is also spinning that alt at 7000 rpm...that insures he's getting full output...hell,130 amps is too much for most tig welding...

it looks like he did a really good job with such a cheap contraption. I would rather spend $50 at a swap meet for an elcheap stick welder, but thats just me.

a problem with it that i see is a lack of gas, theres no way to keep the metal from oxidizing, it can be cleaned up afterwords, but thats not really the right way to do it.

but in a pinch or if you have a lack of funds and a need to wled something i would say it would work.

the weld looked pretty good.

Originally posted by 2quiktocare
Grant, with your experience, I would go with you on this one. The interesting thing is the "making it work" attitude. Would be great in an emergency possibly

Mark

Thats my point.. I wouldnt wanna try to make a living with that set up but I gotta give him an "attaboy" for the idea.