Designing my own digital dash, help me come up with ideas..

Berman

Well the stock digital dash is crap, provides no info. I'm an electrical engineer and am going to design my own digital dash. It's actually extremely simple to do, and the parts are very cheap. I'm shocked that Dakota and Cyberdyne get away with charging $700 for a digital dash. You can get all the parts to make a dash like the ones they sell for street rods for about $50.

One thing I want to do that will take time and cost $$$ is use some really nice color lcd's for speedo/tachometer. I'm going to set it up so you can press buttons and completely change the style of the info displayed in the lcd's. Simple things that I always want displayed, like oil pressure, water temp, and gas level, I will just use 7-segment displays (the type of displays that are used on the stock digital dash). I think I will put the odometer and however many trip odometers I decide on on the same lcd as either the tach or speedo.

There's all kinds of things I could do. Make little animations that play when the car is started. Have the dash display your 0-60 and 0-100 times. Put audible warnings on things like oil pressure and water temp. Or make the speedo and tach disappear and display a huge error message if the car is overheating / has insufficient oil pressure.

Any ideas? Basically, most any neat trick or thing you can think of I can do.

Built in real time, well ALDL time, KR gauge.

Oil temp., tranny temp., intercooler temp.

Alky. level.

Tire pressures. :D

Originally posted by salvageV6
Built in real time, well ALDL time, KR gauge.

Oil temp., tranny temp., intercooler temp.

Alky. level.

Tire pressures. :D

I like those three, didn't think of those. Might as well. Maybe I should just use 3 LCD's? I could make the center one have all info like oil temp, tranny temp, intercooler temp, water temp, oil pressure, etc. Make knock a led bar-graph maybe.