Bad Turbo?

1buick

My 87 gn smokes sometimes when I first start it up after the car is warm. The car does not smoke when starting in the morning or when the car cool down. It doesn't smoke on every start. The motor is a fresh rebuild, although I used the same turbo that came on the car when I purchased it 2 years ago. I have no idea how old it is. The shaft play seemed to be very little. Is this a sign of the turbo going bad? It does not smoke when idling or at cruise speed. Any ideas guys.

If it was the turbo it would smoke under boost and build boost poorly. I have had plenty of turbos go up in smoke and all of them produced heavy amounts of smoke under throttle.

Just after a warm start would seem more to me like either the rings didnt set right or the valve guides could be causing a little blow by. I am not a mechanic though and those are only guesses.

Are you sure the smoke is oil? Raw gas can look close like oil when its not blowing out black. If the car has a really rich start when warm it could just simply be raw gas fumes.

Is the smoke black or bluish? I also doubt it is the turbo given your description.

smoke

yeah x2 for rich gas or fuel loading up, do your check engine light come on:cool:

How many miles since the rebuild. Might be the rings not seated. I'm probably wrong though.

The smoke is bluish. Could a to rich tune cause this?

In theory yes. When I had just put my new motor in my car my tune in FAST was horribly rich. I remember people telling me I should contact my builder because it looked like I was blowing oil out of the tail pipes right after I started the car. If they would have only stood close enough to get a whif of the smoke they should have known it was gas and not oil.

Thats a nice healthy way to tell what it is. Start the car and go smell the smoke, if it smells like gas, its gas, if it smells like oil, get your heads checked. ;)