bad to pressure spray engine with degreaser?

ez at nova

I hate rice
In an attempt to somewhat improve the filth of everything under the hood, I was thinking of getting some Simple Green and spraying that on the engine all over, then diluting some in a bucket of water and using this attachment that says it's for engine cleaning, for my air compressor that draws the liquid up and makes it a sort of pressure washer.
1. Should I NOT be jsut hosing everything down with the simple green?
2. Should I NOT be spraying everything down with the presurized water?
The last thing I want to do is marginally improve the underhood appearance and be left with a broken car.
:p

In the past I've had some bad experiences using high pressure water. It's far too easy for water to get inside electrical components, accidentally knock off small vacuum lines you don't notice, etc.

I prefer to use full strength, detergent based degreasers (no solvent-based, which can damage hoses and wires), a variety of brushes and rags, and then gentle water spray to rinse it all off. Follow with a leaf blower for the big water puddles, and then drive until the engine is at full temperature for a while.

Even then, I'd be reluctant to pour rinse water directly onto certain electrical components, like the ignition module.

Rubbing or brushing will always get surfaces cleaner than just spraying water, anyway, unless the spray is of such high pressure the paint gets blasted off!

Greased Lightning and a little scrubbing on the heavy stuff, then rinse with a hose. Stay away from the alternator and DON'T get it on the body. Top off with some WD40 all over for some dressing.

I've seen some guys put plastic bags with a rubber band around potentially sensitive electrical components before applying water.

FWIW & IMHO: