Bad Day At The Emissions Inspection Lanes

Chris S

If anyone's willing to offer up some advice as to how to resolve a problem I had with a failed trip through emissions test, I'm all ears.

First off, the car has all smog equipment in place, and a new TT emissions chip. While in the lanes, the car began running, and sounding like an old dump truck in desperate need of a tune-up. I was moving through pretty quickly, so I didn't have time to really observe the Scanmaster, but I did catch the the BLM was up to 160 at idle. They no sooner put the tube in the tail pipe, and the Service Engine Soon Light lit up, and I got a MAL 13 on the Scanmaster. After all of that, I wasn't expecting much different, but the car failed emissions miserably. The results are below-

HC(PPM)

Readings: Low 621 High 1870
Limits: Low 220 High 220

CO(%)

Readings: Low 0.03 High 3.73
Limits: Low 1.20 High 1.20

C0(%) + C02(%)

Readings: Low 11.71 High 15.02

Now I know I've obviously got a bad O2 sensor which I'll replace this afternoon, but I'm going to go with the safe assumption that it's not the only problem I have on my hands. The cat. I'm going to assume is OK, since it recently got another car through, but I'm not going to rule it out completely. Vacuum leaks, and cracks are possible, but none are readily obvious. PCV's new within the past 100 miles. The EGR is a bit of an unknown, but it must have been working when the car was last inspected, which was two years, and 500+/- miles ago, because it passed, with no problem.

My greatest concern right now is that the car has only one more re-test, and failure, before the state's going to make me jump through hoops to get the thing on the road. This being the case, I'd like to make sure I've pretty much covered everything before I run it back through, so I'm open to any suggestions as to where I should begin looking for problems.

Thanks for reading, and thanks in advance for your help.