Any thoughts on TBI for 78-83 Turbos...?

81LimitedT

Hey, just spitballing ideas out there. I was wondering if anyone had tried a TBI swap for the 4bbl Turbo? I know there are quite a few 4bbl-to-TBI kits on the aftermarket. Anyone here tried to adapt these, or seen them on our cars? Would it even be a possibility to adapt a GM factory system, say from a 4.3L H.O. or a 305 from any of the GM car/truck lines? I'd think that this might be a less expensive option than the aftermarket if it could be made to work. I'm curently working on the cash to rebuild my salvaged 80 MC Turbo setup into my 81 Limited (I've been hoping to do this for almost 10 years now, since college. Just wish I'd known in 92 how rare that rusted out MC Turbo had been before I had parted her out). I also have an 85 3.8 N/A motor to work with too. Based upon some of your advice and reading, I figured 85 block & heads w/ 80 pistons crank, ignition and induction all combined. I have to work with the 4bbl now, but was just wondering if the TBI might be a "half-way" step toward the SFI setup. I might be way off base here, since I have almost no knowledge or experience working w/ EFI. I just know that I'm a very long way from being able to take the jump to the SFI world (not even sure I want to, kinda attatched to my 81 after 14 years and the draw-thru system is just the appropriate thing for this car anyway:) ). Anyway, sorry to ramble. Thanks for any thoughts!

Mike

My wife had a '87 Monte Carlo LS with a 4.3 TBI. I was very impressed with that motor. I thought about the same swap. There is a fair amount involved. It would need all the appropiate wiring, sensors and ECM. It would also need the fuel system changed to a high pressure, electric pump. The stock PROM chips won't work well with the 3.8 or turbo. Somebody well skilled would need to burn a PROM with all the right parameters.