Bad Wastegate Actuator?

jimmie-d

I'm relatively new to the turbo scene. I have an 87 GN with 38,000 miles, 36# injectors, RJC distribution plate, Poston hot-wired fuel pump, Bosch adj FPR, Poston Headers, TT 91 chip, Razors alky injection running straight methanol, Cotton's high performance coil pack, 3 1/2" intake pipes on stock turbo, stock tranny with cooler, stock converter, SE Turbo manual boost controller.

Two weeks ago I took it to the track for the first time and I could only get 15 lbs of boost. I ran 13.6 at 100.345. A few days later I got some help on my manual boost controller and got it installed correctly so it worked. I took it out on a back road inching up the boost with a target of 23. I got to 23 no problem, but shortly after flooring it I got a loud pop under the hood, the boost went to zero and the car really slowed down. It scared me because I was afraid I had blown up my motor.

When I raised the hood, I found the hose going into the throttle body had come off. I stuck the hose back on, minus the clamp that was missing and drove carefully home. When I got home I reclamped the hose tightly and found four vacuum lines had also come off. I clamped all them with the black plastic cable ties and thought everything was fixed. I thought I just didn't have the clamp tight enough and the 23 lb boost blew it off.

I didn't drive the car again until last Friday when I started getting it ready to go back to the track. The car ran nice and smooth until I got on it. At 10 lbs I got the same loud pop and when I looked under the hood I had some more vacuum lines off.

One guy with a lot of turbo experience told me he thought it was a bad wastegate actuator. His suggestion makes more sense to me than some others I've been told.

Can a bad wastegate actuator cause this? I had to miss our Buick/Ford Shootout this weekend because of this. Can anyone help me out with this?

Sorry for the long post, but I wanted to give you all the facts.

Thanks,
Jimmie