Your Thoughts: 99 3.8 Mustang

jake616

I have an opportunity to get my cousin's 1999 Mustang (17k miles, 5 speed, sequential turn signals, powerchip, k&N drop in, bullit hood scoop) for about $6,000.
I know nothing about these cars, or their potential ( Not wanting a race car). I jsut want a decent looking (although very played out!) reliable car.

Please give me any of your thoughts, and opinions, good or bad!

-jake

Im no expert on mustangs, but i work at a large used car dealer and we get plenty of these. the motor is pretty strong, but the car jsut feels crappy when you drive it(sorry i really dont know how to explain it) it kindof feels like a TR with over 100k on it and stock suspension, SLOPPY. the car just feels, looks, and sounds junky. ive never owned one, but fromt eh many ive driven, i really hate these with a passion. btw, im not just one of those ford haters, i actually have a 1990 5.o that i absolutely love.

actually, now seeing the price and miles again, it sounds like a pretty good deal, even if you just drivi it for a while, hate it, then sell it youll probably make your money back and then some as these usally sell between 8-11000 at the dealer

A V6 Mustang with a hood-scoop, K&N and other go fast goodies to a car that wasn't meant to go fast. Sounds like somebody has been thrashing on this thing pretty good. 5speed... hopefully the clutches is good and he hasn't been slamming on the gears/drivetrain too hard to get this car to do something it wasn't meant to.

You say it's your cousin so there's some degree of trust. And for the price, you may be able to fix symptoms of thrashing and still stay ahead of the game. But just something I would give thought to. Good luck.

I'm only a fan of certain Mustangs. So I'm trying to be as objective as possible.

Perfect donor car to put a 2JZ-GTE engine in. One of these days, I will have a 2JZ in a Buick (not a GN), a Chevy and a Mustang (V-6 beater of course!!).:)