What kind of oil to run

Sorry to say but i wont be needing oil in my car any time soon now , i hate to say it but i hate this car i paid 4,000 for the car last year and put about 2,00 to 3,000 in the car just bought a cam lifters and timing chain because mine were all bad and i find bigger problems .

Synthetic Oil

I'm an AP Physics Teacher and after a few lab experiments
synthetic is the way to go. It was actually developed by the
Germans during WWII because we bombed the Roumanian
oil fields and they were short of oil.

Experiment #1 Took a steel ramp and coated it with various
oils with the same viscosity. Slid a 1kg mass down the ramp
with each oil and the Mobil 1 BLEW AWAY the rest. (mass
slid about 30% faster. Less friction!

Experiment #2 Heated same oils and it is amazing what happens.
Regular oils turned to molasses at 450 degrees+ while the synthetics were just fine.

The molecules of the synthetic oil look like little hot dogs, while the conventional oil molecules look like eggs.

Therefore, I use synthetic in all my vehicles, with a filter change at
5,000 miles and an oil change at 10,000 miles. BTW, when the
synthetics first came out they were recommended changes at
25,000 miles!!

Thanks for that bit of info. I run 10w30 mobil 1 synthetic in mine, my oil pressure is the same as with non-synthetic oil. I've heard great things about mobil1 synthetic. Anyway, the number of people hating synthetics here seems surprising...

apgnos, do you know of any good websites that would have more such scientific info about oils? I'm interested in the theory behind oil, how it works, what's the difference between synth and non, etc. If you've come across any websites with such, let me know :)

Dave

Christ...talk about a confusing thread.....