Torque converter

turboman38

It costs money to go fast
I'm new to list but have owned a turbo regal for about 10 years. I recently had my motor redone and would like to know what torque converter to use. Here is my combo:
TE60 - .63 housing
50 lb MSD injectors
206/206 Cam
TH downpipe
3.73 rearend
stock intercooler and heads but would like to upgrade in the next 2 years

This will be mostly street car but I would like to get into the 11s as far as possible; Maybe 10s when the heads and intercooler are done.

I know you get what you pay for but since it's not going to be raced that much I don't want to spend a ton of money on a top of the line converter. Here is what I have found so far:

Modified stock converter - $200 - Will this work? (2800 stall)
Orange Stripe from GSCA - $319 - (3000 - 3500 stall)
TCI from Summit Racing - $309 - (3000 - 3500 stall)

I been told to go with an Art Carr but it's $700

Any help is greatly apprecitated

Thanks
Jim

Hey!

I see that you finally found your way onto the board! :D

Come on guys! Doesn't anyone have any info for Jim??

With the small cam I would go with one of Bruces 911 converters.

Lonnie Diers

Actualy I asked a question a few months ago that led to answering your question. The consensus was that a 2800 stall (which is what I have ) will cause lag with the TE-60. They suggested at least a 3200 stall. I don't know how to do a link to the topic so you'll have to do a search with my user name in the general tech section and use turbo as the key word to narrow down the list a little. The name of the topic is TE-44 or TE-60.