Replacing my converter.....

Crazi

Why Try...
I am replacing my convertor this w/e and am wondering if anyone can tell me what tools I need to get this done? The guy whose shop I usually use, is having problems with the owner of the shop so I can't go there. I am looking for a list of tools that I need to buy or borrow if i don't already have.

Also, I have never done this before so what tips if any do you guys have? I have pulled both heads, ported them and the intake, and assembled the motor in a week when I was pressed for time and prior to that, I hade never really seen the inside of a motor (that I took apart anyway) so I consider myself technically capable. Just looking for any tips you guys might have. TIA :D

Hmmm. Let me think.

10 mm socket -
  • speedo cable to crossmember
  • TV cable to transmission
  • converter dust cover bolts

14 mm socket - trans mount to transmission

15 mm socket -
  • crossmember to frame
  • trans mount to crossmember
  • converter to flexplate bolts

9/16" socket, swivel joint & 3-foot extension - transmission to engine

1/2" line wrench - cooler lines

needle nose pliers - cotter pins on shift linkage assy.

7/16" wrench (or is it 10mm?) - u-joint on driveshaft

Wow!!

Thanks Greg!!!

I started taking stuff apart yesterday but didn't get very far cause of that dang thing we all have to do............You know.......WORK!! :D :D

I will probably have a few hours to pick at it today but won't have a full chance to work on it until friday night. Wish me luck and THANKS!!!!

Hey Greg, do you recommend replacing the pump gasket, or something like that, when installing a new converter. How about converter bolts, can they be reused. Thanks, Dave

Good question. It's always a good idea to replace the front, metal-clad seal when replacing a conveter. No problem in reusing converter bolts, just be sure to put a drop of loctite on each one.