PowerLogger/ScanMaster No Data Issue

Kaz

I experienced an odd issue today that I wanted to mention to see if anyone had any thoughts. I have a Scan Master and PowerLogger combination installed and they appeared to be working correctly. The ScanMaster was updated to the 2.2 chip and PowerLogger has been flashed to version 4.4.

Earlier today I changed my chip to a new 5.7 TurboTweak chip. Come to find out that the previous owner had already put in an older Caspers ship. Anyhow, I followed the normal routine of disconnecting the orange ECM power wire from the battery while swapping chips.

Once I started the car back up (everything runs great) I noticed I was no longer receiving any data on the ScanMaster. All readouts looked to be at a default setting (the majority reading 0.0). I went ahead and hooked up the PowerLogger to my laptop. I was able to connect to the PowerLogger fine but in monitor mode all data was at its defaults. The user interface did indicate that I was receiving frames.

I went ahead and removed the ECM and removed/reconnected the PowerLogger to see if it was a connection issue, but this didn't seem to resolve the issue. I'm fairly sure the terminals are very clean as I spent a good 2 hours ensuring it was clean using Goof Off and assorted plastic scrapers. (I neglected to use dialectic grease on the terminals... should I have?)

I also swapped back in the old chip thinking it might have been an issue with the TT chip, but the issue remained.

I drove the car for 30 minutes or so thinking maybe the chip was in some learning phase and preventing proper operation of the PowerLogger. I also tried flashing/running various versions of PowerLogger. I also stopped and started the car about 25 times over the course of an hour. Ultimately nothing would get it working again.