Educate Me

Paul Clark

I don't have a clue what the initials or numbers indicate on turbos.
Thought I knew what T & A stood for, but it didn't relate to car parts. :)
Where can I find an explanation?
Have 009s and the stock convertor. Maybe it would just be easier to suggest a few turbos that would be appropriate for what I have.
Thanks
Paul

in most cases, especially with smaller turbos, the #'s mean nothing.

With a stock convertor a 44/49 works well.

i would step up to a ta60 then when you get a little more cash get a 10inch 2800 stall converter. there pretty cheap. in the mean time it should be ok with the stock conveter. :D

Thanks for the replies.
What about the TA, TE, PTE, and PT designations?
I'm a school teacher. Could I get something from the PTA?
Also confused about exhaust housings.??
Feel free to just tell me to check the archives. Bet this stuff is in there someplace. Just don't know where.
Thanks again.
Paul

You can get whatever you want,just don't be a PITA.:D

could'nt resist.

TA-stock type housing
TE-3 inch inlet,slightly bigger compressor housing
PT-precision turbo(company)

Hi Paul,

There is a nice write up on gnttype.org. In the tech section, I believe. Doesn't cover everything, but does help.... and then when you think you have it all figured out, someone comes out with a new housing or line of turbos! :rolleyes:

Jay is correct. The new GT-series of turbos uses a whole numbering scheme that has nothing to do with compressor wheel size (which is generally what the number after "PT" or "LT" means on turbos sized "60" and greater).

I've been wrestling with this new PT71-GTQ for TSM...and come to find out that a newer design is already in the works.:rolleyes:

Originally posted by Paul Clark

I'm a school teacher. Could I get something from the PTA?

Paul

You could ask for a end of the school year party!!! That ALWAYS goes over well. Since you've had to deal with IAs, IEPs, 504s, G/T kids, C/R programs, and APs all year. :)

Lets see