Coolant in pan...

Adam Connell

Monster Truckin since 87'
Well after letting the car sit for 3 years after I got disgusted with it I finally made the time to get her back into shape. The final straw was me cruising down the street, a loud pop, and it died. It turned out all I needed was a new coil pack/ignition module.

Before firing the car I drained the old oil... I pulled the plug and out dump about 8oz of bright green coolant, and then the oil followed. The car was exposed to 3 years of temp swings, but the coolant was good down to -40 on my hydrometer.

Now this next step will make most of you cringe unless you've tried it... I always get looks of shock and horror when I mention doing this, but I've done it to more engines than I can remember and it's never given me an issue (I am an oilfield mechanic). I dumped about 2 gallons of E85 right in the oil fill hole and then pulled the drain plug again. If I did this with a diesel engine I'd use diesel, I always use the fuel the engine runs on and I never let it sit in the engine longer than it takes me to pour it in and get to the drain plug. I did this because e85 is hydroscopic and I wanted as much of all the old crud and coolant out as possible. As soon as flow from the drain hole turned to drips, I dumped a quart of oil in to flush out the rest of the e85. I let that drain to a trickle and then filled it up with oil and fired it up.

She fired right up and ran better than ever. She got to about 140 before I started seeing coolant leaks. The caps I used to cap off some of the coolant lines had cracked. She was still running like a champ though!