Methanol & Fire

Linewalker

I have an SMC alky system in my car. Right now, I am running Snow's Boost Juice in it because it is 51% water and 49% methanol. I'm afraid if the pump leaks it will cause a fire if I run straight methanol. Is this a legitimate concern or am I just being paranoid?

I run straight Meth with no problems..............

Remember the tank and inner fender is plastic so risk of a spark is very low.

It takes a lot of methanol and a very large heat source to get a fire going. The vapor pressure is low and small leakage disappears before it can build up enough vapor. Gasoline on the other hand. Don't go there

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I respect both of y'alls opinions so that puts my mind at ease. Time to pour straight methanol back in and turn up the boost! Thank you guys!!

I've been running DIY alky kit for 17 years and have had no issues.

I suppose it's safe.
yup.gif

ENGINE FIRE.jpg

I would very seriously take any fuel or alky leak under the hood as this is a result of a e-85 leak.

Yep... whether E85 or 93 pump that is much more volatile than alky. Some concern sure but not like gasoline.

Case in point When I'm refilling the alky I do this with a cold engine bay to be on the safe side.

This is what happens when you keep your alky in the coolant overflow bottle. In this case, one of the oil cooler lines split, starting a small fire. The small fire melted the bottle, and it turned into a really big fire.

Do not store fuel (and methanol is a fuel) in the engine bay.

bishirBurning.jpg

There is a video with a Buick engineer that was on the turbo project. He stated that the reason Buick didn't install the Power Injection system is that they couldn't get the car through crash safety testing.

RemoveBeforeFlight