First Time GN to Track. Plan. Suggestions?

SpeedRacerX

Ok, tomorrow I'm taking the GN to Atco to finally see what she can do. I'm excited yet I know I'll have my hands full learning to launch her properly. The car is running great. I've been to Atco before several times with my G8 but this is my first time with the Grand National.

I will be floored and ecstatic if I run 11.999 or better. That is my goal. Supposedly, my combo, in my sig, should be able to accomplish this.

Here is my plan:

Front tires: 40#
Rear 255 MT ET Street SS: 15#
Run As-Is 22-23# of boost and then creep up to 25-28# of boost. 1/4 turn on the Hallman each run. Add Alky accordingly to keep knock in check.
1-2 gear Burnout to warm the tires although car likes to walk sideways. Hoping my HRparts bar helps with this.

Launching:

Get to the line in Drive, not OD and leave it alone
Stop and light up the 2nd yellow on the tree. Don't worry about reaction time and the tree or the other driver
Foot on brake and push the e-Brake
Left foot on brake, Right on Gas
Build boost to 10# or 15#
Once 10-15# achieved, at the same time, pull e-Brake release, foot off brake and mash the accelerator
Hold on and steer :)

Many of you are MUCH more experienced at this than I am so I really appreciate your input.

Any corrections you would suggest to the above?!?!

Thanks!

Looks like a solid plan and very close to how I do it.
A couple of things:
  • Put a sticky note on the dash with your procedure...that helped me keep it straight in my mind.
  • Double pump your brakes to build up some pressure. Read that tip from Spoolfool and it helped me hold more boost.

Good luck.

You might want to start out with lower boost launch and creep higher.

Wow. What a lesson I got yesterday. First, the weather was beautiful - sunny, little breeze, temps started out about 50 and rose to 70. Track was in good shape. DA ranged from 801 in the late morning to 460 in the late afternoon.