E85 and spark plugs

ronbuick

You guys out there using E85, what brand and heat range are you having the best results with, interested in what you all have to say regarding this. And also what gap and boost levels are you running?
thanks

Ron

E-3 Diamond Fire

Reviving an old thread here. ;) For those of you that dont know I've been running E-85 in my driver for over 2 years now.

The question has come up before which plug for E-85? The answer is simply use the plugs you normaly would with pump gas and be done with it, and my testing has shown that is correct. No need to run a special plug for E-85. :)

I must say however that I've been wanting to try the E-3 plugs for a while. I had talked to Kirban a while back and few of his customers have used these plugs and found that the car idles better, smoother if you will.

Fast forward to now. I have installed a set of E-3s. I'm currently running a closed loop idle chip for emissions testing. Sure enough the idle is smoother :biggrin:

I will know more this coming week after a put a few miles on the car with the plugs to see if there are any issues. I am curious if these plugs would help with cold start issues, but in my case the weather really never gets cold enough, long enough where I live.

I payed $36 and some change for the set at sparkplugs.com

If anyone else has used them please chime in. :cool:

on my 97 supra turbo, i am running e85, and with the ngk plugs the car will foul them out in about 500 miles(almost exactly every 500 miles too) tried 3 different sets of ngk plugs, and no better, i was then shown some brisk racing plugs, i was able to get 500 miles on the car before winter hit, so we will have to see in a few months here when the weather gets decent.

still trying to decide if i want to run e 85 on my tta