Who has found the E85 boost limit?

sakudog

I'm wondering if anyone has found the stock engine's boost limit when using E85, assuming you have enough fuel is it possible to cram 30-33psi into the 3.8 with out lifting the heads off the block?

I know a car that tried 25lbs with a 64 turbo, head gasket blown plus intake gasket was mangled.

I know a car that tried 25lbs with a 64 turbo, head gasket blown plus intake gasket was mangled.

Sounds like a "My buddy story..." do you have any more details? The car was on an E85 setup?

Really looking for direct experience here.

I was a passenger when it blew, double pumper, stock lines. 96lb injectors, F.A.S.T ECU. Car did 25lbs in 3 gears until the HG blew. Car has been E85 for a year, first time really hammering it with the new turbo from Patrick.

Do 3.8 liters typically blow head gaskets at 25PSI? Was the tuning wrong? 25PSI seems low but I'm new to Buicks and used to different setups.

I was a passenger when it blew, double pumper, stock lines. 96lb injectors, F.A.S.T ECU. Car did 25lbs in 3 gears until the HG blew. Car has been E85 for a year, first time really hammering it with the new turbo from Patrick.

Something else went wrong do you have a log file of the idc? who tuned the car? new turbo but was the tune up to date? bigger turbo means more airflow.. , i dont think you blew the HG because of the e85 maybe because it went dry and it detonated but blow because of the e85 i doubt it..probably went dry

I would be interested to see the timing/RPM being run at the time of the failure and the A/F ratio.

Bryan

No it was tuned correctly by a well known person, we were not logging the freeway run. The owner thinks it was not enough fuel. The car felt very fast, close to what mine feels like during a 10 second run. I suspect the 105 E85 was not enough octane for the bad air we have in Phoenix.

I would be interested to see the timing/RPM being run at the time of the failure and the A/F ratio.

Bryan