what oil HURT your engine?....the real question!

DR BOOST

Technical advisor
Every week we get someone in here asking what oil to run and people respond with a million different answers. So the real question is.....has anyone run a certain weight or brand of oil that they feel caused damage to their turbo v6's?

I have been told not to run synthetic oil and i have no personal experience to back this up.

I have run 10w-30 in at least a dozen engines with no oil related failures.

I have run 20w-50 oil and noticed slower spool up. confirmed by switching back to 10w-30.

that is all i have to offer.

i have a feeling this may end up being a quiet thread.

10-30 Amsoil in the stage engine, Dutt pump, no issues.
10-40 dino oil in the streeter, 231, earl Brown modded stock pump...No problems, but not a lot of miles since new.

I use this thick stuff and go 10-30 over the winter. Im sure Im killing the oil pump, damaging seals, loosing 83hp. 5 years and still running mid tens... street driven a lot! In fact...time to go to Home Depot.

Attachments

• Screenshot_20160704-081306.png
    Screenshot_20160704-081306.png
    1.4 MB · Views: 343
I've been using Mobil 1 10w30 since my 1st oil change 29 years ago. 75,000 miles 400 1/4mi and 1/8 mi passes. 550hp. All stock unopened motor from the intake down. Maybe I'm just lucky? But I'm a believer in Mobil 1 [emoji846]

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Looks like the posters misread the thread title. He wants people to chime in that actually had failures because of the oil.

I haven't had any oil related failures no matter what I've used in any engine. The only "never do this" I know of is do not use brad penn when running E85. Supposedly documented and confirmed by brad penn oil themselves?

I dont think anyone can say that about an oil Brand or weight. Detonation, low oil level, not changing the oil, poor clearances, or defective filters. To blame a brand or weight, not really possible if you ask me. Blame your "Tuna!"