Turbo & Ignition Experts, Come on In, Help a Buddy of Mine Out...

Street Lethal

Tech Anarchist
My buddy Steve over on ThirdGen.org has been having a hard time diagnosing a problem(s) with his turbo IROC-Z, and was hoping some of you guys had similar issues with your build and could maybe shed some light for him because he is ready to throw in the towel. Started with a fuel pressure issue that eventually got sorted out, then morphed into a turbo back pressure issue, with it now being a very bad ignition break up at 15+ pounds of boost. Any feedback as well as any ideas as to what may be the culprit here would be very appreciated. Here are some of the most recent vids as to where everything stands, gonna start off with the Precision turbo install first...;

Need more info......what ignition, wires, plug gap, etc, etc.

Did he post his issue on another board? If so, link.

Billy T.
gnxtc2@aol.com

While I'm no expert by any stretch of the imagination, it would seem to be a weak ignition system. As boost rises, strong spark is needed to jump the plug gap. Might be some bad or worn pieces in the system.

I would tell him to look into the ignition system. Check the rotor for burn spots. Once boost gets up, the cylinder pressure increases. Tell him to pull the rotor and see if the spark grounds outs through the distributor shaft.

Also, the spark could be scattering inside the cap.

Billy T.
gnxtc2@aol.com

After the visual the first thing I'd do is close the gap down .010-.015 and see if the problem goes away and report back.

Okay guys, he pulled the dizzy and replaced it with a remanufactured distributor w/new module and pickup coil. He apparently shot a new video of the results last night, just waiting for the results/upload onto youtube. I have no idea if he gapped the plugs tighter though yet...