turb'ed 455

Making Boost

QIKAZEL
I was wondering how much hp a 72 455 block could handle. Would stroking it out lessen the strength. I was kicking the idea around but I want to at least keep it all buick.

I'm no expert by all means but I wouldn't think it would be any stronger than a chevy small block. Even they need a little help with just conservative boost and blowers, although you can get by without. If I remember right all the production 455s were all 2 bolt, I think, maybe its pontiac I'm thinking of:confused: . Anyway I would think TA performance could help out if no one here has the answer-but I'm sure someone does;) A built 455 would be killer-a turbo running with about 6-8 lbs would be the cat's @ss! Gotta get out of here, I'm starting to brainstorm naughty things for my limited:eek:

The main webs on a buick are very thin and are prone to breakage. You would definitely need to girdle it. The main journals were increased to 3.25 by Buick engineers to add stability to the weak thinwall block castings. Later 74/75 blocks are much stronger and have less incedence of core shift. You will still need to girdle it though. Also the oiling system on those motors are poor at best. For a wealth of knowledge pick up "How to build high performance engines" by Steven Dove Hope this helps I messed with one of those motors before buying my LSX

Close, the 75-76 block are the stronger ones with the 5/8" oiling. There are roughly 4 generations of BBB's. THe 67-69 400/430 blocks, the 70 and 71 which are near the same just with oiling through the pushrods instead of the deck, 72-74, which have some improvements but not a whole lot, and the 75-76 blueblocks that have the better oiling, more nickel, and heavier walls.

Also, don't forget the 75-76 455s have ultra low compression!

With a set of forged pistons, low compression = more boost allowed, right?