Downpipe to exhaust...

davef

Still Learning
Guys
First let me say, that I am still new to this stuff, so forgive a little ignorance on my part. :p I want to change to a 3 inch downpipe (from original). I will be eliminating the cat and putting on a new exhaust system, with electric cutouts in between. My question is, do I need to match my exhaust to my downpipe? Exhaust system that I would prefer is 2 /12 inches. Downpipe is 3 inches. Everything that have read and heard is that a 3 inch exhaust is pretty loud. I would prefer to try to keep the noise level down to a factory stock rumble if possible ( except for when I release the cutout of course :biggrin:)

You guys have been steering me in the right drection so far, so "if ain't broke......."

You don't have to match the exhaust to the downpipe. However a larger exhaust will expell more exhaust gasses which leads to more horsepower, hence the reason for going to a larger diameter downpipe and eliminating a restrictive cat. A 3" exhaust doesn't necessarily mean it will be louder. The sound of the exhaust depends on what type of mufflers you go with. However DO NOT get an exhaust with baffled mufflers. They create a backpressure not needed on boosted engines and will only rob you of power. You want to get a straight through muffler design no matter what size exhaust you go with.

Sorry. Need recommendations on muffler. If a 3 inch exhaust is not prohibitively loud, then great.

Well my friend put this 2.5" exhaust on from cottons. It's not loud and he loves it. He said ne noticed a significant gain going from a flowmaster to this.

2.5" Dual Exhaust, stainless steel, Exhaust, EX100SS | Cotton's Performance Buick Grand National Parts & Service

Thats the whole thing but you can get those mufflers from anywhere. He also sells it in a 3" for a little less because the pipes are aluminum and not SS.