82 El Camino Project

motohead9

I am new to the sight and am about to ask a lot of simple questions for you guys. Know nothing about turbos and am going to build one. My son and I are going to install a draw through 4 barrell. system. It's a 1982 El Camino 3.8 v6
Th 350c lock up converter
So my first question is were does the oil supply line get its supply from?
Are there any Factory service manuals available?
What carbuerator would be a good replacement for the stock one?
Should we use a catylitic converter or not?
Does this setup need a computer?
What are recomended gauges?
Is running E 85 better for a turbo?
Will a Grand National hood fit on an El Camino?
Any Ideas or ways to build this car are very welcome.

Thanks Eric :)

Attachments

• IMGP5410.jpg
    IMGP5410.jpg
    63.3 KB · Views: 457
  • IMGP5411.jpg
    IMGP5411.jpg
    67 KB · Views: 458
  • IMGP5412.jpg
    IMGP5412.jpg
    69.1 KB · Views: 659
  • IMGP5413.jpg
    IMGP5413.jpg
    70.9 KB · Views: 1,062
Hate to say it but first you need to pull the engine and add some forged pistons at the very least. There are quite a few controls you can add to the system and if everything is now working with the CCC system then you're ahead of the game.

Do a little reading first on www.beforeblack.net and Rich's site will help you understand more about the way the system works.

I would disagree on the pistons. Plenty of NA long blocks being run succesfully with SFI systems. I'm confident they can handle a carb/turbo set up. Key is to keep the knocking (detonation) down.

You have an 82/83 turbo set up there. It will bolt right in place and connect to your stock ECM for the most part. It will be missing will be the knock sensor and the 2 bar MAP sensor.

Not easy, but I would get a wiring harness and ECM from an '83 Turbo Regal. Then replace the MAP sensor and add the knock sensor. You'll have to drill the hole for the knock sensor on the back of the motor. There should already be a boss for it.