1977 nova----L67 vs. 355 SBC

Alex77carr

My name is Alex Carr, I am 19 and I own a '77 nova. I've been building it for the past 2 years and finally came to the conclusion that i'm tired of that old SBC 355.

I talked it over with anyone who would listen. After talking to my instructor, and doing some intense research, I decided that the supercharged 3800 is one bad mofo with some serious potential! I believe this will be the closest thing to suit my needs.

I already have way more in the car than I could ever hope to get out of it; So... the most logical thing seems to be... to make it one hell of a daily driver that will always start and run (very reliable), makes around 300 rwh, good gas milage, and all on a budget!

I have faith!

HERE IS WHAT I GOT :

I pulled a supercharged L67 out of a Pontiac yesterday that is front wheel drive. I am very confident that it can be converted to RWD with little mod... NOVA has a borgwarner T5 in it already that should bolt up perfectly to the motor after I acquire the right bell housing. I have the computer, wiring harness, and fuse box. I am currently enrolled into an automotive program, at the start of the spring semester I will begin engine rebuild, so... rebuilding this engine gets me a grade.

The plan thus far:

1. I would like to find motor mounts for this engine that would allow it to bolt right up to the original 350 brackets, this would make my year!

2. DECENT PERFORMANCE PARTS (Best bang for my buck and no clue as to where I can find them! HELP!!). I was thinking: Headers, Roller Rockers, Rings, Rod Bearings, Inner Cooler.
For the Supercharger (smaller pully, rebuild?). Looking for that 300 hp mark!

3. Clutch, Pressure Plate, Fly Wheel, Bell Housing...

4. Gasket Set (High Quality)...

5. RWD Oil Pan...

6. Figure out the wiring harness, Cut it down so it just runs the fuel injection...

7. Mount the Computer, Dyno, and tune the Motor.

8. I will cut a hole in the hood and mount a cuda style shaker intake.