XFI on a stock GN?

RickC

Yep, I sure did. My wife and I are the original owners of our 87 GN. Never did anything to it but drive it (now has 155K). Over the last 5-10 years or so the car has just run like crap. Hesitation, poor mileage, etc... My wife made it clear I better fix it right or get rid of it. Replaced everything that I thought could even slightly affect driveablity and power (fpr, fp, IAC, MAFS, injectors, radiator, water pump, ECM) to name just a few. Still ran like crap. Only thing left was an ECM upgrade. Started looking at various approaches for that. From lots of reading here I decided there were basically 2 routes irrespective of MAF/Speed Density debate. The 'translator' fool the factory ECM route and the totally aftermarket ECM route.

Obviously over my head I needed help. I studied this forum carefully looking for helpful vendors. In the Performance ECM section it looked like Cal Hartline was always jumpin in to help posters so I gave him a call.

During several conversations and emails Cal made it clear that the XFI was probably overkill for my meager goals, factory drivability and power. I decided to go with the XFI anyway because of the way Cal explained it and supported it.

It arrived with a basic tune already setup for my car. All parts needed were included. Installation was exactly as he had described it, no surprises. We setup a time and over the phone Cal walked me through startup, warmup and hotstart. Then he gave me clear instructions on how to proceed to tune it myself for driveability and encouraged me to try it myself before calling him in to do it.

Wow does it run better. I don't have much spare time so its taken me a couple months playing with it to really get to know what the tables do but I have it running better than factory now. The car is fun again! The car has never been to the track but that may change soon.