Weld wheels: problems with mounting holes-- deformed/out of round?

GN SBS

Hi Folks,

Have a problem with my Weld Draglites that I wanted to get input on.

In the course of putting axles with longer wheelstuds in yesterday, I found that the weld lugs were very difficult to remove from the holes in the wheel. Actually had to use an impact wrench to wiggle them free.

Once free, a friend and I could not get the new open ended lugs in the holes that I'd used before without coercing them with a rubber mallet. As a test, these new lugs slipped perfectly into the holes not used for our bolt pattern and are the same size as the old lugs (tested with dial calipers).

Ideas of what may be going on? We couldn't fit a feeler gauge into the holes to check to see if they are out of round, but I am suspicious about this. The lugs have always been a little tight, but I've never tried to pull them all the way out before and didn't notice how tight.

Anyone else have this problem? Opinions on the safety of these wheels? Causes (I'm guessing under or over torquing at some point)?

thanks!
Scott

ah i have had this problem with my weld pro stars.. they were the ones up front. they are 15x6 and they crack over time...

i noticed that they were making a creaking noise especially around corners, then when i took the wheel off with the impact i noticed after the lug was off the treads that it didnt want to come out the whole in the wheel

i have never had problems with the wheels out back, but they are also 15x10's

well heres a link to a thread i started a while ago with picture of what happened to my wheels...

all i can say is call and complain to them...

Thread 1

-neil