trouble shooting bounty- rough idle

robbyredneck

ok guys put your thinking caps on. i have been fighting a rough idle to no start problem for two months. i actually have information via scan tool and known good parts. now heres what happened ran fine- then idle got real choppy and started popping. i shut it off and jiggled wires maf etc. and restarted and it was fine. then drove it and all was ok. went out later and same thing choppy idle popping and smoking. i put a new o2 and plugs in it and it starts right up but idles like dog fudge it will eventually foul the plugs with sooty kind of residue not wet and greasy. turbolink shows o2 doing the typical bouncing in the middle and maf at 7 typical kc at start up lv8 is at 90-108 blms at 128 and int at 128 all at start up(might be locked due to extreme chip) when ecm goes closed loop eventually blm goes to 90.

a month ago i smelled something funky like burning like butyl not plastic. i took off the volt booster as well. i will try new gas and new gm regulator(currently atr adjustable and i can't get lower than 40). first guy who nails this gets $50 bucks. i will chase down all suggestions as i am ready to light this thing on fire or put a blow thru sbc in it.if any body has a spare coil/ign module that i can borrow i will make it worth their while and return it promptly of course.

lets start with known good items.
1. ecm- sent to full throttle and they bench tested and replaced chip
2. maf trans+ - again full throttle tested maf i put on camaro and ran(cold)
3. good batt. good plugs, good wires, grounds look ok
4. esc seems good as do injectors and fuel pressure seems good at 42 psi.
5. tps at .43 iat seems accurate cts also shows good via turbolink.

questionable or not proofed:
1. ignition module/coil
2. crank/cam sensor
3. injector timing/amount

sorry for the novel but i am trying to be thorough if you want call 585-394-1191, 585-394-0327 ask for rob