Spraying alky after the turbo?

granatl

TRCM Author
Just a little out-of-the box thinking today, but what would happen if we sprayed a fine mist of alky in the exhaust stream? Would it create an area of low pressure and pull the heated air through the turbo faster? (Faster spool-up?)

There was a recent article about electrical turbines (generators) where steam passes through the turbine. Some researcher found that polarizing one of the plates on the exhaust side of the turbine pulled the water droplets through faster increasing the turbine efficiency.

I'm no alky expert but even if you were to try that I don't think it would make more power. Maybe faster spool? Definitely wouldn't want to be the test mule on that one...

They were "polarizing" the diaphragm which made the water vapor spread out more evenly. This created a more even pressure across the blades resulting in increased efficiency but only my a couple of tenths of a percent. Which in the turbine industry is like printing money. I work at a turbine shop in Houston so we see all the latest ideas...... Even the ones that fail. Along the lines of what you are thinking if you added alky and lit it off it would help spool at the cost of increased back pressure, but if you had it set up to full flow at low boost and shut off at mid boost it could help. Give it a try and report back on your results

Posted from the TurboBuick.Com mobile app

1280px-J58_AfterburnerT.jpeg

When that water converts to steam it's 1800 times bigger. I can't imagine the turbo being able to spin up easier with that kind of expansion going on at the 'low pressure' side.

Heck - I definitely have lower standards.

I'm just happy if I have boost.

Attachments

• THINK INSIDE THE BOX.jpg
    THINK INSIDE THE BOX.jpg
    5 KB · Views: 125
You could always just get a different turbo and bypass all that "fire in the hole" stuff.

Or why not just add a flux capacitor?