Speed Density opinions?

Tom Tom Turbo

Turbo Goes Woo Woo
I'm taking a serious look at using a TurboTweak SD chip, Powerlogger, and wideband 02 to tune my Buick, but I'd like some real-world feedback by people who have used it. I hear complaints that its too complicated to use, the tune is lost when the battery or ECM is unplugged, and the chance of having any reliable drivability and fuel mileage with a SD setup is next to nothing.

I have some tuning knowledge and patience, as well as friends who are willing to assist. But I don't want to end up buying $400 worth of electronic gizmos to tune my car and then have it be next to impossible to keep running well.

This is by no means a daily driver either, it would see 8-10 trips to drag strip per year, and maybe 2500 miles of weekend cruising or day trips within a 150 mi radius.

I guess I'm drawn to it for the adjustability and it seems silly to use a MAF system on a car with no EGR or emissions items in place. Its my understanding that a speed density setup allows for a more accurate A/F ratio and seems to be easier to make small adjustments.

Thoughts?

I would start off with a 6.0 chip and get used to tuning with a wideband. I use the SD and the 6.0 helped me sharpen my skills. I use the Powerlogger and AEM wideband.

I guess I should have stated that I currently have no translator or maf, and need a new chip regardless as I upgraded to larger injectors. I'd rather not buy a translator/maf setup just to graduate to the SD setup in the next year or so.

Would a gen II translator, wideband, and powerlogger be an alternative?

I guess I should have stated that I currently have no translator or maf, and need a new chip regardless as I upgraded to larger injectors. I'd rather not buy a translator/maf setup just to graduate to the SD setup in the next year or so.

Would a gen II translator, wideband, and powerlogger be an alternative?

Gen II translator requires a MAF, no SD mode.