Recently installed alky kit, blows fuse every time ignition is turned

Discussion in 'Alcohol, Nitrous and Propane Tech' started by The Granny, Apr 8, 2017.

  1. The Granny

    The Granny
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2015
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    11
    Online
    I wired up the alky kit per the instructions provided, yet I'm still running into issues. Everytime I turn the ignition on the 15 AMP fuse blows. Car is reading 4.8V on the MAP sensor with KOEO. I've changed the grounds on the pump and still no change. If I disconnect the power to the PAC the car starts normally, otherwise it won't. Had the PAC sent to Julio and it checked out ok. If I disconnect the wires from the PAC to the pump it still blows the fuse. I disconnected the 6 pin connector and it still blew the fuse when I tried the ignition. I ungrounded the PAC and the fuse didn't blow. Changed the ground to a different location and it blew. Thanks in advance for any help. I'm looking to get this solved before I head back out of town tomorrow evening


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
    #1 The Granny, Apr 8, 2017
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2017
  2. captrob

    captrob
    Expand Collapse
    Slow GN Fizz!

    Joined:
    May 30, 2001
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    8
    Offline
    Check the pin locations in the plugs. Maybe two pins are swapped causing a short to ground.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  3. The Granny

    The Granny
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2015
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    11
    Online
    Figured it out, the pins were crossed making the ign connect to the ground and vice versa :eek:. The plug was just put on in reverse and locked in that way if you connect the harnesses. I spoke to Julio and he said he'd send me the correct one. Thanks for the direction!
     
  4. gunzandgearz

    gunzandgearz
    Expand Collapse
    gearzandgunz

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2015
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    16
    Offline
    Wow had the same thing happen to mine a year ago surprised that problem hasn't been addressed yet, someone needs to pay attention to the assembly line guy, a little more quality control
     
  5. The Granny

    The Granny
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2015
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    11
    Online
    I went through probably 10 fuses, drove around town looking for more, and was scratching my head for a few weeks on why it kept blowing... at least it turned out to be something easy to correct. It sure does suck but then again thanks to Julios support now it'll be running the right way


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     

Share This Page