Question about knock after letting of the throttle

obrut

I have a 87 t that has a scanmaster and a casper knock gauge. Today when I was driving I noticed something that has never happened before. I would roll on the throttle a little to speed up from 45 to 60 mph hitting about 5 pounds of boost. When I would let off the gas and start to cruise at 60 I saw the LEDs on the knock gauge slowing increase then go back to just the single green. I drove some more and it happened again and I looked at the scanmaster and it showed 7.8 knock.

WOT shows no knock and O2s in the 790-800 range.

Any ideas?

I had a similar problem years ago that ended up being my downpipe being a bit too close to the control arm. Everything was ok driving slowly but on the highway doing what you described would cause my knock gauge to light up when I let off the gas. The downpipe looked like it had enough space but I guess with suspension movement plus letting off the gas just caused it to hit enough to give me problems.

Also, my drivers side motor mount was not 100% and seemed to allow the motor to not have a problem going up and down (I had a tie down..) but a bit side to side which cause the downpipe and perhaps other stuff to clank a bit. Ironically, I couldn't hear a darn thing - I just got lucky one day changing my oil after jacking the car up a bit when I noticed the motor mount thing and saw my downpipe touching the control arm, but only when the control arm on the pass side was a bit compressed after jacking up the car a bit. Although mine was ok, you may also want to check the control arm bushing on the pass side by the downpipe - mine was ok but had been replaced by the previous owner as it was a totally different color, etc..

Hope this helps

Billy