popping noise @ WOT

6-Banger

I have been getting a popping noise @ WOT and its not detonation. It will pop a lot when boost is over 21psi. I have a scanmaster and recording no knock. The car still pulls good. I did a compression test and had 145psi on 1,3,5 cylinders and 150 on 2,4,6. Any ideas? The car has the original coil pack and plug wires as it only has 16,000 miles.

Either coil pack, ignition module or both. Ohm your plug wires. Check for a cracked spark plug.

I have had all of these issues along with a well rounded cam that caused some headaches one time.:mad:

Is it popping in the intake or exhaust? Could be anything from running lean, ignition breakdown, to a blown/leaking head gasket.

my plugs are gapped @ .032. It seems to be more of an exhaust sound than in the intake. If it were the headgaskets I would think that my compression test would have identified that problem. Could it be coil pack, module, or plug wires?

Yes, plugs, coil pack, wires, or ignition module can and will do that. A bad ground can cause it too. Check the grounds on the back of the head.

If you recently installed a MAF translator make sure you correctly set the dip switches...

i second plug gap go a tight 30 and report back if it where a coil pack and or module it would do it at a lower boost. has this done it before at this boost level if not then i would look into coil pack or module. wires too

If it were the headgaskets I would think that my compression test would have identified that problem.

Not necessarily. It could be caused by a high pressure leak during combustion. I would check the ignition system first though. :)

i second plug gap go a tight 30 and report back if it where a coil pack and or module it would do it at a lower boost. has this done it before at this boost level if not then i would look into coil pack or module. wires too