New toy!!!!

jpwalt1987

After about 9 months of research and saving money I finally purchased an HTP 221 TIG welder. A coworker let me try the dry rig he has here at the plant and I was instantly hooked. I have been welding off and on since high school but am really self taught. I am excited to think about the projects I will be able to do once I get some time under the hood.

Attachments

• 1441947794256.jpg
    1441947794256.jpg
    52.6 KB · Views: 172
Technology sure has come a looonng way since I bought my Lincoln sq wave unit!:)
Mine is a wet unit, but is also the size of a VW!!.. Probably weighs as much, too!
Have fun, Jer. Make some "stuff".:smuggrin:

Congratulations on your purchase!:) I bought a precision 225 last year and have used it a lot. I'm also self taught so I was spending 6-8 hours a day making row after row of practice welds and going through a tank of argon every 1-2 days.

Aside from repetition I found youtube videos from Jody @ welding tips and tricks to be very informative. When you get a chance post up some pics so that you can get tips/feedback from some of the welders on here.

I have probably watched every video that Jody has put out on YouTube!! Lol. I am very pleased with the way steel has been turning out but the aluminum is kicking my ass. I really just need to learn the machine settings and what each thickness calls for along with the AC balance etc. I'm getting there ..... Slowly! So far I absolutely love this machine.

I have probably watched every video that Jody has put out on YouTube!! Lol. I am very pleased with the way steel has been turning out but the aluminum is kicking my ass. I really just need to learn the machine settings and what each thickness calls for along with the AC balance etc. I'm getting there ..... Slowly! So far I absolutely love this machine.
What are you using for shielding gas on the aluminum? What about the tip, thiorated %, 2%?