Need help pulling motor>>

87ttypeV8

cant beat the boost!
going to tear down my motor tomorrow yet again and just wondering the best way to pull the intake w/o getting coolant all over the place...

drain the radiator... pull the rad hose... and is there anyway to pull the intake off cleanly.

i plan on just pulling the heads and intake tomm. and then trying to pull the block out after that...

and i was wondering what exactly has to be removed in order to get the block free... 2 motor mounts.. and how many bolts hold the trans in place?

this is my first time pulling a turbo buick motor and just want a lil help

thanks in advance!

oh and would pulling my hood off make things alot easier?

Remove the two drain plugs in the block to get out more coolant.

It's actually pretty easy... and kind of fun... to remove the motor. I did mine a year ago. I removed the starter with the wires still connected and tied that assembly to the frame. The AC assembly can be pulled forward and tied to the drivers front side of the car-I didn't lose any freon that way. Of course you have to of course disconnect fuel lines, grounds and the 6 bolts (if I recall correctly) that hold the trans to the block. I used a wire tie and tied my convertor securely into the trans bolt hole so it wouldn't slip out. Put a jack under the trans so it stays level without the motor in there.

I pulled my motor with the stock headers and turbo still attached to the motor and put it back in that way too. It came out easily. I took photos with a digital camera of how everything looked before I removed the parts of assembly. I placed all bolts in baggies, marked with where they came from. That way you'll know what goes where when you reinstall it and have the photos for refernce.

I just took my time and took it out and reinstalled it with no major issues or problems. Hopefully some of this will be of help. Good luck with your project! Paul