K&N filters SUCK??!!

1987boosted

I never have had a problem with one but i went here, only because i bought a new chainsaw mind you:), but there was a post saying how they let dirt fly into your engine?? I have never heard of anything like this and there is nothing on my blades of my turbo that contest to this...here is the link, all i can speak is my experience and what i have seen, i am no expert by any means so perhaps someone on here can help me out or educate me on why they suck so bad?? http://www.arboristsite.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=6876&pagenumber=2 theres the link if anyone cares to chime in...i do not care whatsoever if im wrong, just curious of the negatives??

K&N's stink for turbo applications. Go check out the turbo diesel register and see how many people have had problems with them. You dont get something for nothing when it comes to filtration. More flow equals more dirt....that was posted by BWALKER on the first page and was my MAIN reason for contiuing to post...

Thats a load of crap. You guys need to relax. It's a chainsaw equipment forum for cryin out loud. What the hell does that guy know about cars? Obviously nothing. If K&N were to be as bad as he proclaims, then they would have already went out of business long ago.

There's nothing wrong with K&N's. The one that was on my car when I bought it, after the guy had it on there forever and daily driving was FILTHY. When I pulled it off, the inside and the MAF were so clean, I could have eaten off them. I saw no dust, no debris, nothing inside the filter. The inside of the filter element looked just fine. So I soaked it in the cleaning solution twice for about a half hour period, rinsed it out with the hose, let it dry for a while, then re-oiled it with the K&N oil, and its like brand new.

I wouldnt go worrying about what some jackass who knows sh!t about what hes talking about says. I wonder how many people on this entire message board use K&N's and have ever had a problem.