Just made my 3" down pipe

Spooling supercrazy

image.jpg
I have never done this and found it challenging and time consuming, but its done. I am not a professional welder or fabricator but have a craving for power. I found that the Turbo does spool up faster. Welded everything up with a mig welder using flux cored wire. It is all welded and is not a 2 piece design but once the up pipe is removed there is plenty of room to change out plugs and easily remove the valve cover if needed. I also cut the original cast iron elbow and used the flange with the pluck and turned the welder on full power and zapped it a little at a time and it held together good. Spent about $90 bucks on the pipe. Now my turbo has that cool whistle sound! Hope this is helpful to someone.
image.jpg
image.jpg

I think this is what the hotair cars are all about , being resourceful and making what you can't buy. Welding without gas and flux core wire isn't ideal but you made it work. Well done.

I think this is what the hotair cars are all about , being resourceful and making what you can't buy. Welding without gas and flux core wire isn't ideal but you made it work. Well done.

I agree with that's what hot air cars are all about. However I disagree with making what you can't buy because you can buy a pre made one from goody parts. .. unless you mean you can't buy because it cost to much. :)

Posted from the TurboBuick.Com mobile app