Idea Computer Gage Cluster

rphatdad

This may fall into the what has he been smoking category, but I had an Idea to put a small form factor pc with a touch screen LCD in the Dash. To interface with the Car's computer Reading boost, mph, rpm, etc and to act as a gage cluster.

The software would read all these parameters and display them in realtime. It could even be skinnable and have a choice of different gage clusters IE GNX style, or Digital or Knight Rider christmas tree lights etc.

I am a software engineer so I think this is something I could do, I was wondering if anyone has already done any work reading from the cars computers or there is any type of documentation on this anywhere for me to have some sort of starting point, and if there was any interest in this.

Sounds like a cool idea.

I've been kicking around an idea for a while that I don't have the programming talent to pull off.
An LCD touch screen that takes place of the stock radio, and the HVAC control head. The HVAC system could work through a series of electric actuators insted of vacuum ones. You'd have the ability to switch screens and have radio, HVAC system, or possibly a Nav system. If you really wanted to get creative, you could make it possible to run Directscan, FAST, etc, and not have to have the laptop with you constantly.

This is something I would buy!!

A terrific idea.

I'm sure it would look a lot better than my OTC scanner duck-taped on top of my steering column!

Just make sure you get the display readable in bright daylight and glare.

Steve

This may fall into the what has he been smoking category, but I had an Idea to put a small form factor pc with a touch screen LCD in the Dash. To interface with the Car's computer Reading boost, mph, rpm, etc and to act as a gage cluster.