help me launch my car...60' times blow

Tom Tom Turbo

Turbo Goes Woo Woo
Okay, I am kinda new to drag racing my car at the strip. I am running 22# of boost through a Jimmy's level 2 trans, 3200 lock-up Vigilante, and Auburn Pro posi with Mosers. Right now I am power braking to about 2900, building about 2 PSI on 17" BFG Traction T/As. The car's best 60' with this method is 2.14 and the car ran 8.87@95 in the 1/8 mile.

Now the car has 26x9x15 ET Drags, how should I launch the car this way?

build up as much boost as the brakes will hold or if the tires are the weak link as much as the tires will hold. I would say 7-8 lbs should do the trick for a nice 1.6 60 ft. But all cars seem to be different. You just got to play with it and find the sweet spot for your setup. pay attention to boost not rpm when trying to get a consistant good 60ft. And i know ive asked this before but how did you trap 95 in the 1/8 with stock heads and cam on a 44? You sure it wasn't a mis-read? (no knocking your car) Ive ran 95.8 on my best 1/8th run but ive just never seen a stock motor with a 44 go that fast. good luck and get some good times :cool:

I build 8-10 lbs at the line under the brakes according to track conditions. On 26X11.5X15 ET Streets and an open rear(non-posi) I 60' 1.81-1.88. I'm putting in the posi unit and replacing my slipping trans this weekend, then shooting for 1.6X or so.

yeah, I don't know how it traps at that speed either. It shocked the hell out of the announcer in the tower at the strip too. My buddy's WRX runs the same ET, but about 18 mph slower.

Launch with the E brake. While building boost, let the e brake go as soon as you get around 10psi or so. Put a rope on the handle of the E brake so you dont have to bend over as much. Works in every GN I have seen. It will cause more wear in tear, but your drag racing the car anyway.

HTH
Bo