Drum Brakes

Knux65

Ok guys, I've never worked on drums before. With that said, I'm wondering, is it feasible to gather all of the parts and assemble them on a bench? I'd hate to crack open the rear brakes only to find out I'm in over my head. Advice?

Just do one side at a time to look at the other side !! Ps I hate them!!! But you can just takes a little while atleast for me!!!

Posted from the TurboBuick.Com mobile app

X2 on the one side at a time. Also you might get the tool that installs and removes the springs from their post. Just makes things easier, or at least it does for me.
Don't be skeered, nothing too much under there. Cleanliness, a pic or two before disassembly wouldn't hurt, and be sure to understand the adjusters. I disassemble clean and put some grease under the cap and never seize on the threads. Don't get your grreasy mitts on the shoe surface. You might pick up two sets and use the long shoes through out if you drag race. Gives more holding power at the line.

I've never had all the special tools. An auto parts store will loan them to you. This video is almost identical to a G body's rear brakes.

drum brakes a snap to replace. All the part stores sell the 3 tools you need. The spring tool and the shoe spring Hold down remover/installer and the adjuster. You can get by without the tools but its easier and safer with the tools. A .before Picture good Idea for first timers be sure to lube the adjuster and you will need to do an pre adjustment before putting the wheel on. Adjust until drum goes on a bit snug and you can spin it with just a bit of drag. Aways good idea to pump brakes a few times after you think you are adusted and recheck for drag as the shoes will always move to the center after a brake pump. There is an access on the back of the drum to adjust if the wheel is on for final adjustment.