Competition Engineering 10 point installed

slowboi

I finished installing my 10 point cage today. Now I have to weld up the floor and paint. This is the 10 point pre-bent cage with an optional x-bar and door bar kit installed. I was lucky enough that i was going to be replacing my roof skin anyway so no roof made it a little easier.

The quality of the cage is good, it will be very tight to the roof of the car. 6 points were welded to the frame, and its a mild steel cage. I added gussets and a few extra bars just for my own piece of mind. On to the pics!

I'm no chassis expert but I have got quite a few built professionally. I'm seeing quite a few issues with what you've built there. It looks like you have a lot of time invested though so nice job.

Lol, ok well I'm no expert either, but I'm here to learn. I followed competition engineering's directions. There are some extra bars I added but I fail to see how that would do anything negative ........ What do you see?

Man, I'll tell you what. I'm not the kind of guy that hates on peoples stuff. I do think it looks really good and I'd be surprised if any tech guys busted your balls. I'm not sure there's any problems on that department. I probably already said more than I wanted too. Anything I say may be easily argued and proved wrong by someone who knows more. As stated, I have a paid some money and had some really impressive roll bars and cages done by a really skilled shop so that's how I know anything at all.

1. Those welds are very questionable. It doesn't look like the heat was up high enough maybe? There's not a lot of weld penetration. It's all beaded up and sitting on top of the bars. Those bars can get knocked right off in a real accident or rollover situation. At some points you Stopped and started again leaving gaps.