Auto Insurance, Credit Ratings and Progressive Insurance

JasonD

Intro
Well...I got popped by the "credit rating results in higher auto insurance fees" scam.

Part I - The Rant
They say that "studies" show that people with less than perfect credit are a greater risk on the road. I call that discrimination. I would love to see someone prove that because I had some credit card problems a few years ago, it makes me a bad driver. I would LOVE to see them prove that considering that I have had a perfect driving record for the past 7 years, and only one ticket in the past 12 years. Suddenly, I am a bad driver NOT based on my driving record but based on something that has NOTHING to do with my driving ability? I am 31 years old with a perfect driving record and my wife is 26 also with a perfect driving record. It is not like I am 19 with 6 points. I may not know muich about this, but based on what I do know, there is no reasoning behind that. It seems to me is is just another reason to suck more people dry. Anyone know of there is an active fight against this credit report/insurance crap that I can join up with?

Part II - The Scam
So needless to say, yesterday I recevied my insurance bill (from Michigan Millers Insurance) for the next 6 months and saw the rates double based on their flimsy reasoning, I lost my lid. My credit is not "bad" but it is not perfect. I think with credit scores an 8 is perfect and I think I have a 6.0 or something like that.

I have gone through the same broker for the past 5-6 years. He is a GOOD guy, never steered me wrong. I would love to stay with him as he has always taken great care of my family when it comes to insurance. Still, for the sake of argument and comparison, I started calling around. GMAC was more, I have heard nasty things about Geico. I called Progressive and the rates were DAMN good. They said my credit wasn't bad at all. Interesting, isn't it?