alky install with tps harness. What is everyone doing about the factory boost gauge?

Discussion in 'Alcohol, Nitrous and Propane Tech' started by HouTX87, Jul 15, 2017.

  1. HouTX87

    HouTX87
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Messages:
    763
    Likes Received:
    21
    Offline
    Installing my alky kit, noticed the new tps harness is plug and play and the green wire goes directly to the pac controller. This leaves the factory map sensor harness unplugged, so in order to keep the digital boost gauge working I would have to splice the old green wire to the new green wire, or... I thought what if I just plugged the stock 2 bar map back in and ran a new hose to it? I don't care to splice my wiring harness any more than necessary and I like to keep things functional on the car as unnecessary as they may be. Has anyone else done it this way?
     
  2. HouTX87

    HouTX87
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Messages:
    763
    Likes Received:
    21
    Offline
    To be clear I'm talking about using the 2 bar map only for stock boost gauge, and using 3 bar map only for alky.
     
  3. Scarab

    Scarab
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    6
    Offline
    yea i would like to know to
     
  4. marleyskater420

    marleyskater420
    Expand Collapse
    still needs to learn

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
    Messages:
    1,107
    Likes Received:
    54
    Offline
    I am assuming that your boost gauge received it's signal from the MAP's green wire?

    So what about this approach-

    On the directions it says to take the green wire from the MAP, and to connect it to the green wire on the PAC controller. What if you were to take the signal wire for the digital boost gauge, and put it in the same wire connector as the green MAP wire and the green PAC wire? This way your MAP is connected to the PAC, and the green wire is sending the signal from the MAP still, and your boost gauge's wire is now connected to the green MAP wire and thus receiving the signal as well.

    Unless I am missing something in terms of the wiring and how electricity works, I think that would solve your problem..
     
  5. bison

    bison
    Expand Collapse
    Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2005
    Messages:
    16,442
    Likes Received:
    1,224
    Offline
    Leave the factory sensor alone. Run a dedicated line to the new map sensor and breakout off the TPS for the 5v


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. marleyskater420

    marleyskater420
    Expand Collapse
    still needs to learn

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
    Messages:
    1,107
    Likes Received:
    54
    Offline
    The new kits have the harness with a new plug for the tps, and a female plug to receive the original TPS. The green wire is spliced in already at the connector that attaches to the MAP sensor.
     
  7. The Granny

    The Granny
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2015
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    23
    Offline
    I've got an extra one of those new harnesses marleyskater mentioned if you want it. it's somewhere in a box of random parts in the garage so I'd have to double check to make sure I can find it


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  8. pacecarta

    pacecarta
    Expand Collapse
    MAGNA
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    8,443
    Likes Received:
    543
    Offline
    i dont get the OPs issue ??
    the new jumper installs the alky map sensor as a separate system , you just need to supply a vac signal to the new 3 bar(tee into the old 2 bar line if you like) . the 2bar sensor for the in dash analog led boost gauge dosnt need to be unplugged or moved ....but..... most in dash gauges aren't accurate anyway and beside stop at 15psi so what good will it be on an alky car that will see over 15psi , just remove the 2 bar and install the new map sensor in its place and leave the plug for the analog dash unplugge or tie the green wire from the old map to the new harness green wire and what you'll have if the analog gauge works , is a led indash gauge that will come on at ~6psi and max at ~30psi
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  9. Pronto

    Pronto
    Expand Collapse
    A Lannister always pays his debts.

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2002
    Messages:
    10,984
    Likes Received:
    651
    Offline
    The in dash boost gauge is like tits on a nun. Useless.
     
  10. hawkfan

    hawkfan
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2012
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    16
    Offline
    But it's still cool though. (y)
     
  11. HouTX87

    HouTX87
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Messages:
    763
    Likes Received:
    21
    Offline
    It's not really an issue. Just curious if anyone had done it this way using two sensors. Like bison said, leave the factory sensor alone and run a dedictated line to the new map sensor. I realize how useless the factory gauge, but it's still cool.
     
  12. hawkfan

    hawkfan
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2012
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    16
    Offline
    I tee'd the 2 bar MAP into the charcoal canister line to make sure I had a dedicated line going to the 3 bar. Just make sure you're upstream of the checkvalve.
     

Share This Page