50 Years-Vietnam-Turbo Buick Connection

Dennis Kirban

As the title indicates their is a connection between the three topics. Positive proof that indeed it is a small world after all.

The year was 1966 I landed in Cam Rham Bay, Vietnam to begin my one year stint in what then was known as a conflict. As we stood outside the plane at attention the question was asked who here knows photography? Three of us raised our hands. They gave us a test. I came out the winner as I was a wedding photographer that summer for my Dad at the tender age of 18.

The job opening was for the 17th Aviation Group out of Nha Trang Vietnam just a short hop northI believe up the coast from Cam Rahn Bay. (My spelling may be off!)

I met the guy I was replacing who as you can imagine was eager to leave Vietnam. His name was Vincent Goglucci. Short guy who taught me the ropes and in less than 2 weeks or so was gone. I recall he said he hailed from NJ and myself I was from PA.

The year was 1966. Fast forward to 2016 (50 years) more exact to the day after this past Memorial Day. I was carrying a handful of orders down to our warehouse and the order on top was for a Matt Goglucci out of New Jersey. The name struck me since it was the day after Memorial Day and like many Vets that is when memories come streaming back to you of your time in the service. Goglucci I did not think was a very common name even my name Kirban is not a common name. I was curious so I called Matt Goglucci and said I had a strange question for him did he have any relative that served in Vietnam in 1966 or 1967 maybe in Nha Trang or was a photographer? He said his Dad did. Without saying it I was hoping he was still alive so I could cal him and see if indeed he was the same Goglucci. I remember him having dark hair and was quite short.